Thanks, Ubuntu!

I decided, in an attempt to save myself a ton of work, to attempt an over-install of Ubuntu. I figured that worst-case, I’d have some ownership or permissions issues, but all my data would still be there. This is something I’ve done with every version of Windows since 3.1 as well as multiple Linux distros, and had ZERO problems with. The only trick is to make sure you don’t have the installer format the partition first. Apparently, the Ubuntu installer thinks this means your data is not important and to erase it anyway before installing. At least before this attempt, I could mount the partition and copy files by hand. Now, it’s all gone. And with it, so is Ubuntu from my PC. Never again! I’m sticking with Slackware from now on…